Reference architecture for Guest SSID tunneling

pfoster
Comes here often

Reference architecture for Guest SSID tunneling

OK, so I'm new to Meraki and finding that unlike Cisco there really don't seem to be any reference architectures like the Cisco validated designs. Is there such a thing for Meraki?

We are replacing a Cisco WLC system that is using an anchor controller to tunnel all guest traffic through the network and release them to the Internet at the DMZ. We want to replicate that design with Meraki. To that end, we purchased pairs (multiple DC's) of MX105's I intend to build as HA pairs in the DC's. Obviously some MR's as well.

Corp SSID clients will be released in their local wifi VLAN, and Guest SSID clients should be tunneled to the MX. My questions are many, and I will list some of them here:

MX physical connectivity: As I  understand it the MX should be configured in a one-arm VPN concentrator mode. The MX will be located in the DC DMZ behind the edge FW.

I know I will need the WAN ports connected and NAT on the edge FW to allow the MX (and MR's, which egress through the DC's rather than their branch site) to reach the dashboard and (as I understand it) the VPN registry server (or is VPN registry only for site-to-site VPN tunneling?).

Should I also build an internal Mgmt connection, or is that un-needed?

Would the WAN ports only need to be in the VLAN that will provide the Guest clients their DHCP address? Or, should my WAN ports live in a Mgmt VLAN for internal access AND have a tagged VLAN for the Guest clients?

Or, should I configure LAN ports to connect to my Mgmt network and the WAN ports only for Guest tunneling? And, does it matter whether it's the LAN or WAN ports I provide NAT and a path out to the dashboard?