Agg ports not working correctly after Switch Reboot

Solved
jlock8191
Here to help

Agg ports not working correctly after Switch Reboot

Good morning,

I am new to the Meraki side of things. We noticed a WAP only negotiating at 100mbps. Due to this, I decided to start with a simple switch reboot. 

After the reboot of switch 1, switch 2 and 3 went down as well due to them getting their feed from Switch 1. 

I waited awhile, but switch 2 never came up, which leads to switch 3 not coming up.

I eventually cycled the ports manually and got switch 2 up, however I believe I may have messed something up. Since I manually toggled the physical ports, the agg config is barking at me. Mentioning "port running LACP and LACP has disabled this port"

I did the same thing between switch 2 and 3 which is giving the same error on its downlink port to switch 3.

Switch 3 is giving occasional "DNS mismatch" messages. Not consistently, but it is definitely having issues keeping clients connected.

Any enlightenment on what I messed up would be amazing. 

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution
jlock8191
Here to help

Hi all! I just wanted to add that this is resolved. I believe cycling the ports individually messed up the agg ports. After recreating the agg ports from the bottom up, the issue is now resolved. Thanks everyone for your replies!

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7
alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

There is no point in physically changing the port if you have not configured the new ports as LACP. I advise you to return the ports that were being used before to reestablish the connection and then configure the desired ports for LACP.

https://documentation.meraki.com/MS/Port_and_VLAN_Configuration/Switch_Ports

I am not a Cisco Meraki employee. My suggestions are based on documentation of Meraki best practices and day-to-day experience.

Please, if this post was useful, leave your kudos and mark it as solved.