Microsoft Direct access on MX68 Gateway Security Appliance

knoor
Conversationalist

Microsoft Direct access on MX68 Gateway Security Appliance

Hi All,  I am new to Meraki and have deployed a new setup which consists of MX68 gateway with 3 switches and a few WAPs. The client bought a new internet connection which is connected to the MX68. The client required a guest wireless connection, which i setup using NAT mode on the APs which gives out random IP in the range of 10.0.0.0/8 as expected. The problem we are facing is that the clients want to use Microsoft Direct Access client on this network, just as they do at their home network, but the Direct Access client gets stuck at "Connecting", hence they users are not able to connect to the corporate resources. There are currently no restrictions on the firewalls to outbound traffic, inbound however is deny just as it would be out of the box. My question is that do we need to put any specific IPv6 policy on either inbound or outbound or is there any other option to allow these clients to connect? Can i find any logs of these connections through the MX68, ( i dont have a syslog server collecting the logs) Regards, -KN

4 Replies 4
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

>Microsoft Direct Access

Wow, I haven't seen that in a long time.  They know this technology is deprecated and not supported by Microsoft anymore?

Are they connecting into the site with the MX68?  If so, they would be way better getting onto supported technology like Cisco Secure Client (aka AnyConnect).

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX/Client_VPN/AnyConnect_on_the_MX_Appliance 

Failing that, you are going to have to experiment.  You might find if you create a VLAN for guest access on the MX68, and then change the guest SSID to us bridge mode it might work.  Hard to say.

knoor
Conversationalist

Hi Philip,