Learn more about your community peers in our member spotlight!

AmyReyes
Community Manager

meraki community member spotlight banner.png

It’s time for our April Member Spotlight!

For the month of April, we chose to recognize @TheAlchemist. Since joining the Meraki Community last July, TheAlchemist has authored 56 posts with a total of 8 kudos by asking great questions and engaging members in discussions across the Security / SD WAN  and Wireless LAN boards. His efforts earned him the Rising Star award in September. He continues to leave a lasting impact on our community.

Congratulations!

TheAlchemist.png

Tell us a little bit about your background.

I’m from India originally, I’m a Canadian citizen now. I got my bachelor’s from a program in India in electronics and communication, and I moved to Toronto after where I did my EG diploma and masters in electrical engineering, and I started working for telecom. That was my main field, but with telecom I got more into IT with LTE communication, and that’s how I got into networks. I got a couple of Cisco Certifications, and then I moved into the field of broadcast. Right now I am working for a major broadcasting production house. It’s owned by two of the biggest telco carriers in Canada. I’m very happy to be here and using Meraki. A lot of media probably still is actually this way, but in media, a lot of broadcasting was all base scan. It was all analog STS signals before, even digital was FTN stamped signals, but now with more IP streaming of media content on YouTube, Twitch, a lot of IT workflow is used now in our broadcasting infrastructure, so I have added to that. I wouldn’t call myself an IT administrator. We’re a team, and I’m one of the guys who works with setting up the equipment and we deal with Meraki a lot.