Learn more about your community peers in our Member Spotlight!

MeredithW
Meraki Alumni (Retired)

meraki-communities_spring-cleaning_2019 (1).png

It’s time for our June Member spotlight!

For this Member Spotlight, we chose to recognize @ChrisLaird. While he has been a community member since 2017, Chris caught our attention this month through his participation in the Folding@home challenge. We watched as his moniker (Moravian_College) quickly rose to the top of the Cisco Meraki team from donating loads of processing power and we just had to find out more about him and learn how on earth he pulled this off! 

Congratulations!

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 12.01.30 PM.png

Tell us a little bit about your background.

I currently work in IT but that wasn’t originally the plan. I graduated from college as a history major with an elementary teaching certificate. I tell people that to demonstrate that you don’t need to go to school for tech or be a CS major, to succeed in this field. You’re not locked out, it’s not too late, almost anyone can succeed in IT if they work at it. After graduating college, I started in IT at Moravian College, where I worked as user support, then networking/systems engineering, then as director of networking/systems engineering, and now currently as the Assistant CIO for Infrastructure.

In the Folding@home challenge, you quickly skyrocketed to rank 1 on the Cisco Meraki team — what kind of set up (or witchcraft!?) did you use to achieve this?