meraki support just told me meraki doesn't support 802.1 enterprise on chromebooks????

bento23
Comes here often

meraki support just told me meraki doesn't support 802.1 enterprise on chromebooks????

I'm new to meraki and I am trying to provision chromebooks with 802.1 with eap/tls. I purchased meraki after being told it could do that. However documnetation on the subject seems to be nonexistent. Can this be true that I can't connect using eap/tls. They recommend radius but i thought this solution provided a meraki tls approach.any advice appreciated. i want the most secure wifi connection i can accomplish with meraki ap. I don't have much experience with certificates and the like.  

4 REPLIES 4
Bruce
Kind of a big deal

In most cases you need more than just the Meraki kit to do 802.1x. Meraki supports 802.1x on its wireless access points and its switch ports too. In addition you’ll need a RADIUS server to respond to access requests (unless you use Meraki Authentication which is pretty basic) and if you intend to do EAP-TLS you’ll also need the infrastructure to issue certificates and get certificates onto the Chromebooks.

It’s easier to do straight username and password authentication. You still need the RADIUS server (or use Meraki Authentication), but you don’t need to get certificates onto devices. See here, https://documentation.meraki.com/MR/Encryption_and_Authentication/Configuring_Clients_for_802.1X_and... fordetails on how to configure various clients for 802.1x when using Meraki Authentication.

Configuring a RADIUS server depends on the server you use, but this document provides a good overview of the process, although it’s based around Windows clients and Microsoft NPS server, https://documentation.meraki.com/MR/Encryption_and_Authentication/Configuring_RADIUS_Authentication_...

DHAnderson
Head in the Cloud