Wireless Client Issues Abound!

Weasel87
New here

Wireless Client Issues Abound!

Hello. This past March I took over a network with Meraki wireless.There are a mix of Meraki, Cisco and TP-Link switches. My focus thus for has been standardizing the wired network. There were just a ton of STP topology changed going on constantly. I have these mostly cleared up at this point and my current main issue is reliability of the wireless network. This is my first time working with Meraki.

I have been really busy with some other things and have not been able to investigate the cause when several classrooms at once start having wireless issues. So the fix has been just to reboot the AP's and move on. That's not something I want to continue for long. 

When the problem appears clients seem to be hanging on distant AP's and in the Meraki switches I see a bunch of MAC-Flapping messages. They are always wireless clients. When I spoke to a Meraki engineer he explained I would get a MAC flap if two AP's saw the same client within 10 seconds. But it seems like when this is happening the client is stuck on the far AP and will not associate with the nearer AP. I have tried some tweaks. I set the minimum bitrate to 12 and dropped the range for transmit power since we do have AP's in almost every classroom. This did not seem to resolve the problem. So now I have turned on band-steering, set the minimum bitrate to 18 and dropped the transmit power a little more. 

Just curious of anyone out there has dealt with similar issues. Kids in a classroom will not be able to get internet access, I will see them hanging on to a far AP or just plain unable to associate until I reboot the AP in those classes. Any ideas or advice on other things to try would be greatly appreciated.

8 Replies 8
cmr
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

@Weasel87 are the wireless adapters Intel 8260/5 models?

What model APs are having issues, what firmware are you running?