Single Ethernet Interface - Limitation?

KR2
New here

Single Ethernet Interface - Limitation?

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Meraki products and researching new AP's for a wireless refresh. It looks like the WiFi5 AP's are end-of-sale and all of the new WiFi6 AP's have only 1 Ethernet interface. I'm wondering if the single Ethernet interface (no capability for LAG) would be considered a limitation when installing the AP at a location with 1G LAN infrastructure?

6 REPLIES 6
DarrenOC
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Hi @KR2 

Welcome.  As you've rightly pointed out the WiFi5 AP's are EoS and the newer WiFi 6 AP's are shipping with single interfaces.  

The below document only mentions WiFi 5 AP's and the replacement models all have single interfaces

https://documentation.meraki.com/MR/Client_Addressing_and_Bridging/MR_Link_Aggregation_Configuration...

https://meraki.cisco.com/lib/pdf/eol/meraki_eos_mr.pdf

Is it a limitation....?  AP's can be replaced pretty easily and most designs encompass some overlay of coverage so I don't see it as an issue.

Darren OConnor | doconnor@resalire.co.uk
https://www.linkedin.com/in/darrenoconnor/

I'm not an employee of Cisco/Meraki. My posts are based on Meraki best practice and what has worked for me in the field.

Darren,

Thank you for your reply and the documentation links, as well as your feedback regarding whether or not you would consider the single interface a limitation; it's much appreciated.

GreenMan
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Note that the current crop of APs support multi-Gig (mGig) on their single LAN interface for the most part, so;   100/1000/2.5  - or even 5 Gbps, in the case of MR56.   Uplink support reflects the capabilities of the installed radios and cumulative wireless data rate.   Review the specific datasheets for full details.

Of course, you need mGig capable switching too, of which there are a number of choices, within our MS switch ranges.