Second Hand Meraki Owner?

CarrotJuice
New here

Second Hand Meraki Owner?

So I am actually a very nerdy restaurant operator with a novice IT hobby. I recently cancelled a wifi service that was being provided in my stores.  I'd had the service long enough that when I called to cancel, they told me I could keep the equipment (half dozen meraki mr33-hw access points).  I thought: Cool! I'm gonna take these home, factory reset them, and build the most amazingly overkill home wifi network ever all the while teaching myself about enterprise level networking!"  But alas, now that I have them home, it seems they are still tied to the original purchaser despite my best efforts to factory reset and wipe the previous owners from existence.  

I certainly did not expect to be granted free access to Cisco's amazing cloud management software for these second hand devices, but I was a little disappointed to find that I am also prevented from accessing the device locally after a factory reset.  It seems tragic that such a beautiful piece of technology is now essentially bricked that the original owner has given up on it.  Is there no way for me to unlock these devices and explore what they have to offer?

Best Regards,

Carrot.

5 REPLIES 5
Roska
A model citizen

Thanks for posting. Did you purchase the HW units and the licenses that should be tied to the HW, in MR/wireless lics are probably LIC-ENT-xxx where the last part of a PID is for the duration of license + support. Get the list of serials and contact the seller and ask them to remove them from original Meraki organization. The problem with second hand devices like Meraki is that there is no way for the buyer to check if traded goods are tied to a previous owner or not. You could additionally contact your local Meraki sales reps to explain the situation. Not 100% sure how Meraki EULA handles these types of situations now so I would recommend you to contact both the seller and Meraki directly.

Good luck.

cmr