Meraki AutoRF - 5ghz

RaphaelL
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Meraki AutoRF - 5ghz

Hi ,

I have a simple ( I hope so ) question about Meraki AutoRF and I'm no wifi expert!

I live in a village with couple houses near me but it is not really crowded. 

My MR33 at home shows little to no interference in the 5ghz band : 

RaphaelL_0-1633652339844.png

My AP is using channel 40 with 80mhz channel width.

In the RF Spectrum page. I see around 15 BSSID in the UNI-1 , UNI-2 and UNI-3. The entire range of UNI-2 extended is free. Why isn't AutoRF steering my channel to the UNI-2 extended. Is there a reason ? Should I manually configure it to UNI-2 extended ?

I don't expect new neighbors or any new AP near me in the future. Even though there is little to non interference at the moment , I'm just curious to see it unused.

Thanks ,

5 REPLIES 5
rhbirkelund
Kind of a big deal

There could be many reasons why AutoRF isn't steering your AP towards UNII-2E.
Assuming you are still using default settings, one such reason could be due to DFS events. UNII-2E channels lie in the same rf spectrum as weather/doppler radars. And according the spec, if an AP detects signals from a weather radar, the AP will log a DFS event, and steer the AP away from that channel, because it is illegal to interfere with weather/doppler radars. I can't remember if these DFS events are logged in the Meraki eventlog.
You can read about Radar detection in DFS channels here; https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/wireless-mobility/80211/213882-radar-detection-in-dynamic...