Meraki 802.1x Roaming

SOLVED
ccraddock
Here to help

Meraki 802.1x Roaming

Dear Community,

I am new to Meraki wireless and so I had a few concerns regarding the roaming action with Meraki Wireless when an SSID uses 802.1x. We have not currently deployed our Meraki wireless network and are still running our legacy Aruba Wireless network. We are currently using EAP-TLS with a Microsoft NPS Radius server for one of our corporate SSID's. All of the wireless clients have user certificates that are presented to the server during authentication (Windows devices and Macbooks are present in the environment). Currently, machines are able to roam pretty seamlessly between AP's. The SSIDs will be operating in bridge mode with all AP's on the same subnet. We are using MR33 AP's on MR25.13 Firmware.

My questions are these:

1) Are there any issues I should be aware of as it pertains to roaming between Meraki AP's when connected to an SSID that requires 802.1x authentication? I was reading that 802.11r is supposed to help this but also saw that it could cause issues? I was also reading that PEAP "fast reconnect" is an option but we are not running PEAP.

2) If 802.11r is enabled, should I be using "Enabled" or "Adaptive" mode?

Please let me know what you think? I have not yet deployed the wireless but plan to do so in the next couple of weeks.

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@ccraddock wrote:

@NolanHerring@PhilipDAth ,