MR26 only about 100 Mbps

Keamas
Conversationalist

MR26 only about 100 Mbps

Hello,

I have a 250 Mbps Internet Connection. If I use the Cable which is connected to the MR26 I get the full speed.

But if I am connected via WIFI i just get about 100 Mbps and I am sitting just next to the AP MR26.

The Connection between the Access point (MR26) and Switch (MS220-8P) is 1000 Mbit Full Duplex:

Ethernet 1
1000 Mbit, full duplex
6 REPLIES 6
DarrenOC
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Hi @Keamas 

I’m no wireless expert but one thing that jumps out is that you’re allowing the full range of bitrate.  Try setting the minimum to 18Mbps and test again. Unless you’re using really old legacy wifi devices and require the lower nitrates?

UCcert_0-1610718166074.png

Darren OConnor | doconnor@resalire.co.uk
https://www.linkedin.com/in/darrenoconnor/

I'm not an employee of Cisco/Meraki. My posts are based on Meraki best practice and what has worked for me in the field.
KarstenI
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

There are a couple of things to check. The MR26 is "only" an 802.11n AP, so there are limitations.

The Radio-Profile shows "auto channel width". that means we could have 40 MHz here. Good!

What kind of client are you using? Does it support more that one spacial stream? With one SS  and 40 MHz, the max Radio-Rate would be 150 Mbit/s and around 100 Mbit real world should be ok. 

A tool like http://mackenziewifi.com/index.php/2020/01/02/windows-wlan-monitor-script/ can tell you more.

In addition to the previous comments;   WiFi has far more overhead than wired connections and is essentially half-duplex.

https://www.cwnp.com/wi-fi-overhead-part-1-sources-of-overhead/

Bettencourt
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Hello there! 😁😁😁

Looking at your screenshots attached there are some settings that definitely need to be revisited.