MR18 AP Unreachable

GHSTAFF2017
Here to help

MR18 AP Unreachable

Hi, I'm wondering if anyone can help as I'm not an expert on this....

We have two MR18 APs, on of which has gone offline and I'm not sure why.

They both run the same SSIDs and are configured the same, we have the latest firmware update but one isn't working.

When I first checked the dashboard, it said it was offline due to a NAT or firewall conflict? (I think-it has now changed to just say it's been offline for an hour).

Does anyone have any ideas as to what I can do or way I can fix it?

Thanks in advance, Terry.

8 REPLIES 8
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Try power cycling it.

Try patching it directly into the PoE switch with a different patch lead to eliminate the cabling.

Try patching it into a different port on the switch.

redsector
Head in the Cloud

maybe the wrong VLAN on the connected port, allowed VLANs on trunk ports correctly configured?

I need to configure trunk for the accesspoints (accesspoints decides client to use the the right VLAN by asking Cisco ISE), and no VLAN entering in the IP config for the accesspoint. Accesspoint needs a fixed IP-adress when working with Cisco ISE as radius-server.

Thanks guys, 

Unfortunately your knowledge base is quite a bit more advanced than mine!

I've changed the cabling so it's not that and tried a different ethernet port so it's not that either.

I don't know what a power cycle is!

We have another AP that's working perfectly, when I look at the configuration, the settings for both are the same except the IP (provided by the DHCP) is different.

Could that be it? If the problem is that I need to set up a static IP, wouldn't I have the same issue with the other AP? 

Hi @GHSTAFF2017,

Power cycling is a technical way of saying "resetting" it. When you power cycle a device, you turn it off and then turn it back on again.

If you were to set the IP static, just make sure it's something not in use on your network.