MR 52/53 access points - limit user devices - or BYOD limit and management

MST
Here to help

MR 52/53 access points - limit user devices - or BYOD limit and management

Experts,

I am new to Meraki Access points. We plan to purchase 80 MR52 but I have a dilemma. 

We would use PPKS for school owned devices like Chrombooks, IPADS, MAC Book Air Plays.

We would use radius SSID using Windows NPS for teachers authentication. The only question is how to limit devices amount per user? Also what about if a teacher wants to use their credentials on a cell phone? How to approach that?

Would be nice to use 802.1X - radius (NPS)authentication for both MAC BOOK pros (school owned) and other BYOD like teachers cell phones, ipads. We dont have to use radius, we can use AD for authentication but how we can approach teacher own devices? 

Any idea? 

5 REPLIES 5
jdsilva
Kind of a big deal

Do you mean PPSK? If so PPSK is an Aerohive thing. You don't have that option on Meraki.

For simultaneous logins, you can control that via NPS with RADIUS Accounting.  I'll see if I can find an example...

Thank you jdsilva,  

In aerohive there is SSID and user profile so I can limit to one SSID and multiple user authentication. Is there something similar with Meraki? 

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Because you are using RADIUS to authenticate users, you need to do it there.  You need to match on the Called-Station-ID attribute.  This is a reference article:

https://documentation.meraki.com/MR/Encryption_and_Authentication/Configuring_RADIUS_Authentication_...

NolanHerring
Kind of a big deal

There is an option in the wireless access control settings where you can enable group policies by device type. So for example, you can block Android phones from connecting to that specific SSID if you wanted to.