Guest wireless with VLAN Tagging

Solved
CMorinski
Conversationalist

Guest wireless with VLAN Tagging

Trying to setup a guest ssid in my elementary school. Below is how the ISP has our firewall configured. 

0/3                         1x.2xx.2xx.1/22                Internal Wireless             VLAN 35 Tagged

0/3.1007                1x.2xx.9x.0/23                   Guest Wireless                  VLAN 1007 Tagged

I am new to this process and would like to figure it out instead of contacting my vendor to set it up.  

I assumed I would use NAT Mode but how do I configure firewall settings to pull from my IP pool setup by the ISP instead of this one? (10.0.0.0/8)

NAT mode: Use Meraki DHCP

Clients receive IP addresses in an isolated 10.0.0.0/8 network. Clients cannot communicate with each other, but they may communicate with devices on the wired LAN if the SSID firewall settings permit.
1 Accepted Solution
ww
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Yes , but maybe first configure it on a empty switch port and swap the cable to that port.  In case it doesnt work you can easily go back.

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11
ww
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

In nat mode its always using meraki dhcp.

I would recommend reading this

https://documentation.meraki.com/MR/Client_Addressing_and_Bridging/SSID_Modes_for_Client_IP_Assignme...

Use bridge mode and tag it with vlan 1007.

Configure the firewall to deny  local lan and enable l2 lan isolation

CMorinski
Conversationalist

Thanks!  I did try doing it that way yesterday.  When i try connecting to the guest it will eventually time out just give me a 169.254.x.x IP.

ww
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Do you have trunk ports between the firewall and the switches and to the AP?

Are you sure there is a dhcp scope for this subnet?

CMorinski
Conversationalist