Game is dropping as soon as i switched to MR33

AdelD
Comes here often

Game is dropping as soon as i switched to MR33

Hi All,

I am still new to this so appreciate your help. Yesterday I installed Meraki MX64, MS220, and an MR33 at my home. I haven't done any major configuration apart of adding SSID / enabling WPA. 

All worked fine however, as soon as i play an online game , i keep on getting random dc. is there a configuration that i missed where i can keep the game session last forever ? i am not sure how does it work so apprecaite your help

the setups is AP==>connected via PoE to Meraki Switch which is connected to the controller. Then the controller is connected to NBN Fibre modem. 

I never had this issue using my old router so it seems the problem started as soon as i started using Meraki devices. 

20 Replies 20
cmr
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

@AdelD What is the device you are using (Windows 10 laptop with Intel network adapter etc.), and what firmware is the MR33 running (i.e. 27.5)?

AdelD
Comes here often

I am using a dekstop with wireless adapter - Intel(r) Dual Band wireless-AC 3168. Windows 10

for firmware:

MX 14.53

Released Jun 2, 2020

MS 12.28

Released Aug 26, 2020

MR 26.8.1

Released Jun 17, 2020
cmr
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

@AdelD If you connect the PC wired, for a test, is it all okay?  If so I'd try 27.5 on the AP, make sure you have the latest Intel WiFi drivers and let us know if that works?

NolanHerring
Kind of a big deal

Easy thing to do right now is eliminate wireless as root cause.

Hardwire, play your game and see how it handles around the corners.

If it does not have any issues, then take a look at the wireless. Are you using 5GHz only SSID? or is your laptop connecting to 2.4GHz and every time someone runs the microwave your game tanks etc.

Nolan Herring | nolanwifi.com
TwitterLinkedIn