Client not getting IP address, VLAN is behind ASA firewall

gabbybher
Comes here often

Client not getting IP address, VLAN is behind ASA firewall

Hi,

It's my first time deploying Meraki and I'm having an issue with a specific SSID as the client is not getting an IP address. I will be replacing aironet with Meraki.

Meraki SSID with issue is on Bridge mode and it's using VLAN 308 for VLAN tagging.

The switchport is on trunk-mode and native VLAN is set to the VLAN for Meraki management IP(NO VLAN filtering on switchport), VLAN 308 is on the VLAN database of the core and access switches but VLAN 308 is behind Cisco ASA firewall.

VLAN 308 is already existing and it's being used by aironet access points. Clients connected to SSID from aironet are able to acquire IP address.

DHCP IPs are not depleted as well.

Kindly guide me if there is something I need to add on Meraki Dashboard or on Cisco ASA.

Thank you.

9 REPLIES 9
DarrenOC
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Hi @gabbybher go to Wireless > configure > Firewall and Traffic shaping

Are you Allowing or Denying clients access to the LAN?  If set to deny then clients won’t get an Ip from your dhcp server

2895ADF4-7722-4C2B-91E7-3DA7AC8AE6E3.png

Darren OConnor | doconnor@resalire.co.uk
https://www.linkedin.com/in/darrenoconnor/

I'm not an employee of Cisco/Meraki. My posts are based on Meraki best practice and what has worked for me in the field.

Hi Ucert,

I think the SSID is on default settings for Firewall and Traffic Shapping.

gabbybher_0-1655821836685.png

DarrenOC
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Scroll down on that page. What are your outbound rules?  By default Local LAN is blocked

I'm not an employee of Cisco/Meraki. My posts are based on Meraki best practice and what has worked for me in the field.
DarrenOC
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

image.jpg

it's also on default, allow IPv4 any any.

gabbybher_0-1655823556407.png

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal