AVG Wireless Latency and RF Profile

SOLVED
TedNg
Conversationalist

AVG Wireless Latency and RF Profile

Hi guys,

This is my first post here, and I am still learning Meraki product; so please go easy on me.

My question is all about setting up RF Profile "Radio transmit power range (dBm)" and AVG Wireless Latency in "Wireless Health" session on Meraki dashboard. For some reasons, our AVG latency is always around 150-190ms, not too sure if it is normal.

We have 42 x MR52 (Classroom), 7 x MR42 (Open Area), and 1 x MR72 (Oval Playground); so would "Radio transmit power range (dBm)" affect on the avg latency? We have WAP for every classrooms and most of school area such as Library or corridor as Open Area.

I tried to search for similar topic on this forum, but I could not find much information. But if you may have some experiences for similar problems before; could you please help to point out anything that we can have a look at?

Thank you so much,

Kinds Regards,

Ted

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
nwu1
Here to help

Hi TedNg,

Another aspect I would look at is your RF spectrum, specifically looking for interference as wireless is prone to such (especially on the 2.4Ghz). The latency you're seeing is quite high but not abnormal and it really depends on if users/clients are experiencing the actual latency while performing work/running applications. 

It looks like you have quite a number of Meraki AP's, so I would recommend keeping the power levels on auto to allow Dashboard to run it's algorithm on antenna power unless you know areas where there are reported issues and can verify using a spectrum analyzer of sort. Bumping up power level will not drastically affect latency on the WLAN. 

Ultimately a wireless site survey would be ideal as Dashboard can report issues on the AP infrastructure end, but not from the client aspect.

Cheers,

nwu1

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Oscpimienta
Here to help

This may help!