DHCP Solution

dizzysn
Here to help

DHCP Solution

Hey folks,

Could use some ideas here. I currently work for a state agency, at a school district. Every single agency in the state, has to work with our state IT department. I'm just going to call them XYZ. XYZ has certain policies and procedures we have to work around, and it creates a TON of logistical issues. As such, I'm a network admin, but my ability to access and modify things ends at our switch. The router and firewall are all handled by XYZ, and as such, I'm not allowed (or even able) to do anything with them.

We currently have 4 VLANs broadcast in the schools. Protected, Student, Guest and BYOD. BYOD used Google OAuth, but Guest, Protected and Student are all separate, and there's no relay between them, so none of them talk.

Currently right now the set up is that every school has two servers. One is a Linux CentOS DHCP server, which runs DHCPD for the Protected network and some VMs for a handful of other things, and the other is a Windows machine that had some magic performed on it (I believe it's the multiplexor protocol from Microsoft) that managed to virtualize the internal NIC card and allow it to have 4 VLANs - It's a single ethernet port which gets an address on the Protected, but has 3 other "virtual network ports", each assigned on the other VLANs, and it runs a DHCP server for Student, Guest and BYOD. I have absolutely no idea how this was set up or how it manages to work. I've only ever dealt with Windows DHCP for a single scope, and when using VLANs, we used the router/appliance (WatchGuard, Aruba, etc etc) for DHCP and VLAN configs.

I want to acknowledge that it's a total hack job that was created out of necessity and lack of resources, and it wasn't created by me. I absolutely hate this set up and I'm looking for ways to simplify it.