Not a "developer," but using APIs?

Melissa
Meraki Alumni (Retired)
Meraki Alumni (Retired)

Not a "developer," but using APIs?

Hello community! 

I'm looking for folks who are using Meraki APIs but previously had little to no experience with programming or software development. If this description fits and you're open to chatting about your experience with Meraki - please message me privately! 

I'd love to learn how you're using Meraki APIs and how that experience has been for you thus far 🙂

7 REPLIES 7
Jason-907
Getting noticed

What do you classify as a developer? I've never had a job doing development, but I have a computer science degree, so have coding experience from college. Since college, I mainly just write scripts to simplify monotonous tasks and it isn't what I was hired to do.

nealgs
Building a reputation

Similar to Jason-907 (but without the degree, lol 🙂 and with 33+yrs IT, mostly doing scripts to automate long winded manual tasks.

Just recently started using Meraki API to automate password changes on guest wifi which seems to work very well.

5ghz
Here to help

Hi, 

i would like to have more information on how to get started with API and programming of the dashboard. scripting and programming is becoming a big part of the dashboard for making multiple updates and if you don't have the experience, the documentation is NOT very good for beginners.

Jason-907
Getting noticed

I've found that looking at sample code helps more than the sparse documentation. A  good resource would be very helpful. In the meantime, I'd focus on something small and get to understand it, then build from there. Is there anything specific that you are wanting to do?

I've done just that, and started with some simple get statements using powershell invoke-restmethod.