API GET request include "Notes" property?

SOLVED
tlrcmbs
Conversationalist

API GET request include "Notes" property?

Hi,

I'm relatively new to working with APIs, so maybe I'm missing something. However, I've scoured the API docs looking for a solution to my needs and cannot find one.

I'm currently writing a Python script to use within my organization that makes API calls to the Meraki Dashboard to query networks within a specified organization. Most of these networks that we have in the Meraki Dashboard have information under "Notes" (select the desired network and then navigate to Security Appliance > Appliance Status) that I would really like to be able to access through the API in order to retrieve helpful metadata through my script. 

Can this currently be done? 

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MerakiDave
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Currently cannot retrieve the notes field, no.  But you can retrieve the tags, so perhaps a possible workaround is to leverage device tags as a form of notes.  Also make the wish, the API is being enhanced all the time, and I will mention this to the Solutions Architecture team as well.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
MerakiDave
Meraki Employee
Meraki Employee

Currently cannot retrieve the notes field, no.  But you can retrieve the tags, so perhaps a possible workaround is to leverage device tags as a form of notes.  Also make the wish, the API is being enhanced all the time, and I will mention this to the Solutions Architecture team as well.

Thanks for the reply. I look forward to the future API updates.

Hey tlrcmbs,

I'm unsure why meraki have giving you the wrong information but the area you refer to is shown via the api device list.

Meraki Dashboard

'https://api.meraki.com/api/v0/networks/[networkId]/devices'

You will get added information of all devices against that network but exporting to a csv will allow you to filter again the MX devices and see the notes field.