vMX Azure compute costs

DHAnderson
Head in the Cloud

vMX Azure compute costs

I am working with customer who is looking at getting a SAS service that runs on Azure.  The vendor said that they need to charge extra because my client has a Meraki firewall.

When I pressed them on that they replied that my clients needs a vMX to get the site to site to work, because Meraki isn't really compatible.  Upon research I see that there is value in using a vMX over directly connecting to Azure.

The vendor never said the upcharge for the Meraki, but it looks like a couple of hundred of dollars a month.  I will be quoting a vMX-S.  It is my understanding that the vMX installs as a network adapter. 

I am new to all of this, so I don't really know what monthly Azure costs for a vMX are.  Is a couple of hundred a month reasonable in anyone's experience?

Thanks in advance.

-Dave 

Dave Anderson
2 REPLIES 2
Inderdeep
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

@DHAnderson : I am not sure but expecting the same whatever the cost of vMX100(retired now) on Azure or little more in below link

https://community.meraki.com/t5/Security-SD-WAN/TCO-for-vMX100-in-Azure/m-p/30075 

will check in my circle if anyone using on Azure and will update you !

Regards/Inder
Cisco IT Blogs awarded in 2020 & 2021
www.thenetworkdna.com
Bruce
Kind of a big deal

@DHAnderson the vMX runs as a virtual appliance within Azure, so it uses a standard Azure compute instance, most likely a 'Standard_F4s_V2' (but could be a 'Standard_D2_v2' or 'Standard_D2_v3' too). This means you are paying for Azure compute charges just as you would for any other server in Azure.

You can use the Azure pricing calculator here, https://azure.microsoft.com/en-au/pricing/calculator/, to determine a rough idea of what it will cost for the compute platform, it various between country and region. You can also use the calculator to estimate data transfer costs.