Site to Site VPN no onsite DHCP server

TreyT
Conversationalist

Site to Site VPN no onsite DHCP server

Hi all, let me start by saying I'm extremely new to the IT game.  I recently setup a mx device at two locations.  The goal is to be able to share files over the vpn tunnel.  I setup site to site vpn configuration, and the vpn status is showing no issues.  I'm able to ping a computer succesfully on the other end of the tunnel.  I also tested that if i search for a printer by ip im able to connect to it.  The issue i'm having is that none of the devices can find each other by searching the network.  I do not have any form of on site dhcp server setup and i'm assuming that is my issue.  Is there a way to get the two mx devices to share dhcp info?  If not is there an easy to use dhcp server program I can setup on in windows 10 pro? Thanks in advance for any help

7 REPLIES 7
GaryShainberg
Building a reputation

Hi there,

Great to meet you, your post is a little confusing, so I will try and clarify a few things.

I assume you have two sites with an MX at each site and therefore each MX is acting as a DHCP server for each site.

In "addressing and vLAN" have you enabled multiple vLAN's and created an IP range for the local network at each site - the standard setting is one LAN (192.168.128.0/24)

In the site to site setup in VPN settings, what network have you allowed in the VPN ?

It may be worth drawing the two networks out to start with and share it (just a hand drawing and take a pic)

Then I (we) can help further

Regards

Gary

CTO & Solutioneer
CMNA, CMNO, ECMS2
SNSA, SNSP
~~If you found this post helpful, please give it kudos. If my answer solved your problem, click "accept as solution" so that others can benefit from it.~~