New to Meraki - Make sure I order the proper gear

KerrDave
New here

New to Meraki - Make sure I order the proper gear

HI All,

We're switching ISPs and moving to an MPLS network, so decided to replace all of our old hardware at the same time.  We'll have one datacenter with an Internet connection and another connection to the MPLS network.  All other branches will only have an MPLS connection and share the Internet connection at the datacenter.

We plan on using MX64 devices at our branches and an MX84 at the datacenter.

I believe connecting the MPLS is easy enough to do with AutoVPN, but I'm not sure how I would go about sharing the internet connection.

I was going to use one WAN port on the MX84 for the MPLS and the other for our Internet connection, then just add static routes from the MPLS network to the internet.

Does this sound like a reasonable plan?

I'm new to the Meraki world and only recently received my demo MX64, but haven't really had a chance to play with it yet.  So before I go ahead and order the equipment, I just want to make sure I'm on the right track.

Thanks,

Dave

6 Replies 6
jdsilva
Kind of a big deal

This isn't a great use case for the MX.

The biggest issue is, today, you cannot disable NAT on the MX. So you're going to have to NAT your private IP space inside your now network at the branches. This also implies you're going to have to manage port forward rules at the branches for any traffic that needs to establish a connection in the to-branch direction. Of course, if you run everything inside of VPN tunnels then you can get around this. 

Further, if your MPLS doesn't have Internet access then you cannot connect a WAN port of the MX84 at the DC to it. MX WAN ports require Internet access and will not forward traffic without it. 

Meraki does have a recommended topology for what you're trying to do, it's just not really the best solution.

https://documentation.meraki.com/MX-Z/Site-to-site_VPN/Configuring_Site-to-site_VPN_over_MPLS