Assigning VoIP Phone to New VLAN but Port Won't Give it IP Address

SOLVED
jared721
Here to help

Assigning VoIP Phone to New VLAN but Port Won't Give it IP Address

Hello! I am relatively new to Meraki, still getting used to how it all works.

We are likely going to be implementing VoIP phones at my organization, and I created a new VLAN for these VoIP phones to be connected to. This VLAN is VLAN 4, on a subnet of 192.168.129.0/24. I configured a DHCP server for this VLAN to assign IP addresses from a pool.

I connected the VoIP phone to a port that originally was configured for VLAN 2, on the subnet of 192.168.127.0/24. I switched this port's native VLAN to 4, and all VLAN's are allowed on it.

The problem I am having is that the VoIP phone cannot connect to the Internet, as it does not get assigned an IP address for VLAN 4 from the 192.168.129.0/24 subnet. The port continues to have an IP address from the 192.168.127.0/24 or VLAN 2 subnet.

Any idea why this might be happening? Thanks in advance for the advice.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jared721
Here to help

I looked into the DHCP problem more and it looks like the uplink on one of the switches wasn't configured to allow the Voice VLAN through. It seems to be working now.

Thank you everyone for your help!

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
CameronS
Getting noticed

Hi Jared,

Best practice would be to have the port as an 'access' port.

Type: Access

Access VLAN: 2

Voice VLAN: 4

Therefore, you can plug a device into the passthrough to get a VLAN 2 address, whilst the phone picks up the VLAN 4 address. 

Hello, thanks for the info. I changed the port as you mentioned, but the phone still doesn't seem to be able to obtain an IP address. Any other thoughts? Thanks for your help!

alemabrahao
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

What is your Ip phone model? Have you tested It with a notebook?