Sync AD Groups Over

jared_f
Kind of a big deal

Sync AD Groups Over

Hi Folks,

I finally got a Windows Server 2012 R2 lab setup with AD. I have verified that I can enroll devices with a user from AD, but I can't seem to sync over any AD groups in Meraki. I feel it is the way I am setting my AD groups up in Windows Server. Could anyone provide a sample group they configured that syncs to Meraki?

Thanks!

Jared

Find this helpful? Click the kudos button. Thanks!
12 REPLIES 12
jared_f
Kind of a big deal

Just a warning: This is my first time ever touching Windows Server and Active Directory. I configured this all from Youtube videos.

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

AD can be configured in many places for different things.  Where are you doing it?

I'm going to guess that it may need ldaps, and you'll need to use a certificate on your AD controller (can be free private), or perhaps the permissions are not allowing it.

jared_f
Kind of a big deal

The Server is running in a virtual machine. 

jared_f
Kind of a big deal

@PhilipDAth I enabled a certificate on the server using LDAPS and switched the port on my Meraki configuration to use 636. My AD sync is still failing, the funny part is that when I go to m.meraki.com and log in with my AD credentials it works and that specific user syncs over but the groups they are a member of do not sync over. Any other tips you recommend?

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

In the Meraki dashboard; where are you configuring AD?  It can be done in several places.  Once I know I can give you some screen shots.

jared_f
Kind of a big deal

For some reason I can’t upload a screenshot from my phone. But, it is under Systems Manager > Configure > General Heading > User Authentication Settings  

Thanks,

Jared

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Under:

Security Appliance/Active Directory does it look something like this:

Screenshot from 2018-02-24 11-33-05.png