How to Force Exchange ActiveSync Compliance

Craig_ITD
New here

How to Force Exchange ActiveSync Compliance

I am new to System Manager and I am trying to figure out (ultimately) if I can do the following on Android and iOS mobile devices:

1. Setup up mobile devices so that email will only ActiveSync to Exchange if MDM is running and the device is compliant to policy.
  2. To get to #1, how to I force MDM to always be running on a mobile device

I have Exchange set to quarantine new ActiveSync devices until approval but I need to stop the sync if the device falls out of compliance. With the Department of Defense upcoming CMMC requirements I need to establish tighter security on all mobile device connections.

Any assistance in the above is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

1 REPLY 1
DSM
Here to help

Hi Craig_ITD,

For point 1)

Is the policy to which users must be compliant defined in the Meraki Security Policies or are you using another solution? If it is defined within Meraki you can setup your exchange ActiveSync payload to only sync to client devices which are compliant with a particular security policy using tags. This is described here.

The downside to this is that a user will have to re-enter their password / re-authenticate using OAuth every time their device becomes compliant again as it will remove the ActiveSync account completely from the device. This is probably okay if you don't expect devices to become uncompliant very often, but if it's a weekly thing it will definitely annoy users (maybe they'll start keeping their devices compliant!).

Unfortunately a more streamlined solution would be to use Microsoft Conditional Access policies to block ActiveSync connections when devices are not compliant with InTune MDM policies as described here. Of course this assumes your organisation has Office 365 with InTune. This would also mean abandoning Meraki EMM which is unideal.