Existing SM user but new to DEP and Apple Configurator....need advice

Jacko
Here to help

Existing SM user but new to DEP and Apple Configurator....need advice

Hi all,

I'm new to theses boards but have been using Meraki SM for 4 years now, albeit without utilising all its features.

However i have recently enrolled our company into DEP and now want to supervise all our ios devices.

I know this will mean a wipe and re-enrolment of all existing devices and its my understanding that if a user restores from icloud to a time prior to the supervised enrolment then it will remove the supervision from their device.

To that end i'd really appreciate any any advice on the following points. Sorry there may be a lot but tech support keep pointing me to online documentation, which is a bit poor considering i've just thrown £5.5k at them for licensing. And when starting from scratch advice is better than simply reading everything (i don't have the time anyway). So, here goes.........

1. Best practice for supervising over 150 existing ios devices already enrolled. I understand that most need to be added to DEP via Apple Configurator first (using v.2.6.2)
  2. We are on a windows domain servers, does anybody here link their devices via ADUC / LDAP? pros and cons?
  3. I use VPP to assign apps to authorised users, but could we get away with NOT using AppleID's
  4. I test enrolled one brand new ipadpro, and after assigning an AppleID to it, i cannot access icloud from the settings, its greyed out. Couldn't find it anywhere in the profile settings when i created it.

I'll leave it there for now as i don't know long it takes to get replies on here.

Many thanks for any advice offered.

22 REPLIES 22
PeterJames
Head in the Cloud

@Jacko