Enabling AFW's factory reset protection

DamonBCSA
Comes here often

Enabling AFW's factory reset protection

Hey there, I'm relatively new to the Meraki MDM, having previously used Airwatch and MobileIron, so I'm not totally new to the world of MDM.

Our current policies and settings are fine and prevent anyone resetting the device once Meraki is installed an enabled via the settings menu. However I've recently discovered that even though we are registering the devices in Device Owner mode and the AFW account is enabled, that if a phone is reset via hard reset using the Android Recovery option, that you can then just register the phone again as anyone.  

After some trawling through these forums I've found out that Meraki have disabled Factory Reset Protection for AFW by default sometime in 2018 as per this posting https://community.meraki.com/t5/Endpoint-Management-Systems/Disable-factory-reset-protection/m-p/111...

My question is how can I either setup AFW's factory reset protection to default on, or at the very least, re-enable it so if a device is stolen/lost (or in our case some mischievous clients) and they do a reset that the device can't be setup again and/or they need to contact our IT department to reconfigure the phone so we can get it back in the MDM.

cheers

2 Replies 2
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

For "vanilla" Android I don't believe there is any way to prevent the full device reset.  I've never been able to do it.  I have used that specific feature when a phone has been accidentally bricked by locking it down too much and then cutting off its access to the Internet to get new policies.

I believe you can do this on Samsung phones using the Samsung Knox feature.  Never tried it.