Best way to use tags and deploy apps

GabBlais
Getting noticed

Best way to use tags and deploy apps

Hello everyone,

I'm kind of new to Meraki and never had a formation before.I've read a bit there and there but not enough to be confident about this next step. Right now our system is hadling 25 IOS devices (Ipad). The current method we have is to apply a new tag to a new device (basically his name) and then add this tag to the apps we want to deploy. For those 25 devices, we have around 120 apps. Right now the users can install whatever they want and we mainly handle the paid apps, not the free ones.

In the next couple of weeks, we are going to have around 80 more Ipads, and couple 100-200 more in the next couple of months or so. We were also asked to block the users from installing free apps and deploy them ourselves. Now, I don't know what's the best way to use tags in this case. Instead of using them to identify one Ipad, and then add the tag in every single apps we search for, I was thinking of creating a tag for each app and identifying each Ipad with 30 to 120 tags, depending of the numbers of apps wanted. That seems to be a bit faster since I can enter the tags in one window, instead of searching for each app indivudualy in order to add the Ipad tag.

I also want to add that the Ipads are going to be distributed is differents classes, around 15-20 by classes. I may try to create a tag for a specific class, deploy all common apps to them, and handle the rest app by app (tag by tag). But there can be a lot of differents apps inside the same class.

Now, is this the best method I can do or am I missing something?

Is there a limited amount of tags I can use on one device? What about on one app?

Thanks a lot for your help !

8 REPLIES 8
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

Surely you can "group" the users, and use a tag per group?

For example, the "sales" group, who need these applications ....