I'm not a programming wizard but...

Steven
Getting noticed

I'm not a programming wizard but...

This might seem like a stupid question but if mac addresses have traditionally been written in the following three formats:

11-11-22-22-33-33

11:11:22:22:33:33

...why would you choose format 11:11:22:22:33:33 for your JSON output when ":" is a delimiter in JSON but "-" and "." are not?  They picked the worst of the three choices available.

I know that Python has a JSON parser but not everybody uses Python all of the time.  When I want something quickly I use command line curl and simple command line parsing techniques and it has worked very well for me until I run into this kind of stuff.  Then everything gets twisted into a pretzel.

5 REPLIES 5
PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

If you are going to use that argument you would say you can't use "-" because someone will interpret it as subtraction and you can't use "." because someone will interpret it as a decimal point.

@PhilipDAth wrote:

If you are going to use that argument you would say you can't use "-" because someone will interpret it as subtraction and you can't use "." because someone will interpret it as a decimal point.