Licence Management...

Tony9i9i9i
Here to help

Licence Management...

Hi All,

I'm told there is some way setting up a second organisation and switching non deployed deceives between the two to prevent licence days being consumed.

Has anyone done this? Does it work? And is there a how to guide anywhere?

I'm fairly new to Meraki and ask as we have just had circa 10% of our WAP estate returned to stores and would like to stop them consuming licence days if possible.

Regards,

Tony.

7 Replies 7
MarcP
Kind of a big deal

you can switch licences of not used devices and used devices...

You´ll need to open a support case through dashboard or phone.

They´ll need your old and new organizaton, an Admin in both orgs, the serial numbers of the devices and the daily support code as well.

Maybe the licence key is needed as well, but only had that once.

Hi Marc,

Thanks for your response.

What I want to do is stop unused kit consuming licence day's.

This sounds like we'd be moving unused kit to a second (dummy) organisation, with their licences, wouldn't license just be getting consumed by the kit when the kit was idle in the dummy organisation?

BrechtSchamp
Kind of a big deal

Devices in your inventory that aren't actually in networks don't count towards the license limit. So there's no need to do that.

That said, applied licenses in your organisation will consume days, whether you have devices using them or not. So you should keep the "License limit -> licenses you have applied to your org" and "Current device count -> actual devices in networks" in your license page as close to each other as possible. If you have too many in your license limit column helpdesk may be able to help you. But I'm not sure.

PhilipDAth
Kind of a big deal
Kind of a big deal

>prevent licence days being consumed.

This will not work.  Even if you have an orgnisation with zero devices in your inventory the licences days will still be consumed.

Thanks for the responses guys.